Christ is risen, Christ will come again – 1 Thessalonians 2: 1-5

I often wonder if I have a burden for this world – if I love those around me to share with them the freedom of Jesus Christ.

Do I recognize their need for fulfillment in the only One who can fulfill? Am I sensitive to their need for purpose, a purpose only He can give? Can I overcome my personality – my desire to stick to my own business and not bother with other people – to be authentic with them and share the Light of my life with them?

The believers at Thessalonica had no problem in doing this, none whatsoever.

In verse 2 we see that God was present with them, He gave them help and boldness and courage.
His Spirit was there, in their midst and in their hearts in a very real way. He empowered them and strengthened them.

I also often wonder – when I do share the Gospel, why I do.

Do I want public acclaim?
“I have led three people to Christ in the past year.”

Do I want public recognition?
“Look how big our church is.”

Do I want public approval?
“I must be a good preacher, look at how many people raised their hand after my sermon.”

God purified the desires of the believers at Thessalonica; there were no ulterior motives or secondary purposes. God selected them, instilled them with a burden for their lost and dying world, empowered them, and was confident they could share His truth with their community.

The Thessalonian believers had no ulterior motives, they simply wanted those around them to know the Lord and love Him. They had no fancy methods, simply His Spirit and His truth.

What are my motives in forming relationships? Do I desire fellowship? Do I love non-believers enough to share God’s Word with them, that they may know Him?
How bold am I? How daring? Who do I try and please? What am I afraid of? Who do I fear?

My the sovereign God, who inspires us with life and truth, have free reign over our souls, to transform us daily for His purposes. May we have no agenda but His kingdom, and no purposes but to worship Him.

Leave a comment